How I lost 60 pounds…

Losing weight it hard. SUPER hard.

In May 2011, I developed an issue with my knee that pretty much gave me a wake up call to lose weight. So my Doctor told me to keep track of all the calories that I ate everyday.. he wanted to see what/how much I was eating. So I did for one week, and when I showed him my calorie intake.. he said “Wow, you were really truthful”. I lived on mom’s home cooked meal and potato meals and fast food. I really do LOVE fast food… and frappes.

So he told me to eat 1200-1400 calories a day and workout three times per week (and make sure you sweat). He said to eat high fiber foods in  the morning and afternoon and high protein/low carb for dinner. That’s it. That’s all he gave me to work with. Before that I never exercised and NEVER watched what I ate.

I started at 242 pounds. That was the highest weight I have ever been.

How the hell was I going to this?! Let me tell you how….
me-before

 

me-before2

 

So the first thing I had to do was buy a digital food scale. Everything needed to measured. The second thing I decided to do was give up Diet Soda and caffeine. UGH, this was so hard. But after a week, I no longer missed it. I didnt have to give it up but I knew it would help me out. Caffeine was a big thing for me since I drank a lot of diet soda.

The last thing I had to do is figure out what I can eat.

To start out I literally walked up and down every food aisle to see what I could have.  The most important thing for me was the quantity of food. Why have 2 of something when you can have a whole bag of something else for less calories?? I knew I wasn’t going to eat salads everyday… so I made up my own diet…. and it worked.

The last thing was that I didnt want to give up bread or some of my favorite foods. I had to figure out another way that I could eat them.  After 4 months of eating right and exercising, I lost 40 pounds. It took another 3 months or so to shed the last 20.  I reach my lowest weight in summer 2012 at 186.  My doctor still wanted me to lose 40 pounds but I plateaued and I became frustrated.

me skinnyme-skinny 2

 

I am going to share my tips for weight loss.

Before every meal and between each bite drink water. Water allll the time. After a workout I did like to drink Lemon Propel. I love me some Lemon Propel.

Take your time eating each meal. I try to take atleast 30 minutes to eat my meals. I real somewhere that it takes xx minutes before your brain tells you that you are full. Between eating slowly and this water business…. it helped me

Small snacks. In the beginning, I HAD to eat every three hours. So I picked out a snack that I could eat at my desk or while on break.

Breakfast- Always eat breakfast. My breakfast meals fluated beacuse I switched from 2% milk to skim to almond milk.

Breakfast #1.  Kashi Honey Cinnamon Oatmeal or a high fiber instant oatmeal. Sometimes I would have toast with it.. sometimes a banana. 150 calories.  Bread is high calorie, no matter it its whole grain or whatever.. I use Heathly Life High Fiber BRead. 35 calories per slice.  I also used spray butter- whatever was cheapest at the grocery store.

Oatmeal + Bread + butter = 220 calories total

I could have more food for breakfast, but this filled me up. I had this breakfast 90% of the time. Its fast and easy.

Breakfast #2. Scrambled Egg Beaters (with cheese) , hashbrowns, and toast. I measured everything. Its all about portion control.

1/2 cup of Egg Beaters= 60 calories

1 slice Kraft American Fat Free Cheese= 25 calories

2 slices Healthy Life Bread- 70 calories

85 grams of Diced hashbrowns (single serving)= 70 calories

Total Calories= 225 calories

Breakfast #3. Pancakes. I picked up frozen pancakes.. 3 pancakes= 260 calories and the lowest calorie syrup I could find. The one I like is Log Cabin Sugar Free. 1/4 cup is 20 calories.

Total Calories= 280 calories.

If I could I would try to have some fruit with my breakfast. Most times, I just had the meal or toast with it.

I didnt drink coffee or any drinks with calories, so that helped my calorie intake.  I would have tea with my breakfast but made sure it was unsweetened and zero calorie.

Exercise. I can’t ran. I don’t like gyms…. so I walked. I walked 2 miles.. three times per week around the lagoon by my house.  As I lost weight, I did increase my workouts to 5 days a week.. sometimes on weekend I would workout twice in one day. I also made a deal with myself that I would workout later that day if I ate a normal meal at a restaurant or had takeout. Sometimes for a workout I would bust out my Dance Dance Revolution for my PS2 and do that. Better workout than walking. You definitely felt that workout.

In the next few blogs I’ll post my lunch and dinner menus. I hate to cook, so many of the recipes I came  up with are easy and quick. I also just cooked for myself, so at the very most I would have two servings and one leftover meal for dinner the next night. I also tell you about the struggle with only eating serving size of foods.  UGHHHHHH.

I was really lucky that the summer I began to lose weight was the summer my parents were gone. They eat like a typical Midwesten family and I don’t think I could have done it with them in the house. When they moved back in the fall, it was such a struggle for me. Soda, cookies, candy, cakes, meat and potatoes were are shoved in my face. I had to be really stern with my mom and told her I didnt want her to tell me what they had for dinner and i DID NOT want her to save me any leftovers. It was such a struggle… and she was pretty upset that I wouldn’t eat her food anymore. It was such good food… I did miss it, though.

Even though right now I gained back most of my weight, I know that I can do it again…. and it is SOOOO much harder the second time around. SO MUCH HARDER. Everything needs to be lined up for successful weight loss. Accountability, Exercise, Motivation, and Focus. If you lose anything of these then you won’t get results you want.

I have so much more to share…. but now I have to watch some Kdramas.

Leave a Reply

